By default, students can see the results of an assessment they complete as soon as it's been marked. You can choose to withhold results until you're ready to share them.
When setting up an assessment, in the Assessment Setup section, you can choose to withhold student results from being released by checking the box labelled Withhold student results until I choose to release them.
Checking that withhold box means that students won't see their grade until you release them. When you release the results, any students with their email address on the system will receive an email notification.
Leaving the withhold box unchecked means that your students will be able to view their results as soon as they have completed the assessments if the test is automatically-marked, or as soon as their assessment has been marked if the test is manually-marked. They will also be automatically emailed a notification.
Other teachers in your school can release results from the Control Panel as well. Keep this in mind if a single assessment has been assigned to multiple classes, as it may result in one class seeing their results before you expected.
Once the assessment has been completed and marked, hover over the assessment in question and select Analysis.
There is a banner under the Insights & Actions section with information about how visible the results are to students. Select Change to move between visibility settings.
Choose between Internal, Provisional and Finalised Results:
- Internal Results: Not visible to students. Choose this when you are still marking the assessments, or have a planned release date for the results.
- Provisional Results: Visible to students, but labelled as Provisional. Choose this when you want students to see their marks, but want to be able to make changes to the results.
- Finalised Results: Visible to students and labelled as final. Choose this when you have marked the assessments and do not want to make any further changes.
You can also show students their answers—but not the questions they were asked—by unchecking Allow students to view their papers. This can be useful if you want to keep the assessment private for reuse in the future.
Click Confirm to save your changes. If you have changed results from Internal to Provisional or Finalised, students will also automatically be emailed with their results, assuming this was enabled when setting up the assessment.